vegan chews

Almost healthy vegan candy!

For new or seasoned vegans, you may be wondering if candy can be on your “vegan list” or not. Well, actually, yes. There are candies out there that are technically vegan. But the ingredients in 99% of them are “technically” some of the same ingredients that comes in the antifreeze in your car, too.

Add the propylene glycol along with the high fructose corn syrup and you’re sailing on a chemical high for hours! Not to mention stripping the insides of your stomach and liver. Oh, and quite possibly rotting your teeth.

But I wanted to personally know if some “healthy” candy existed out there so I did some searching. There are actually some companies that make vegan candy and although there is still some sugar products used in some of the products, they didn’t have all the chemical warfare that goes on in your mouth and body upon consumption.

1.) Sjaak’s Organic Chocolates. Coming up for Easter we found this company makes vegan “milk” chocolate eggs and bunnies. The chocolate is made with almond milk. There is also a large chocolate bunny filled with gummy bears, which are also vegan. Most of the ingredients, if not all, are organic in the chocolate.

2.) Yummy Earth. Did someone say lollipops? This seems to be their vegan specialty and the ingredients really are not that bad. If you really are having a lollipop craving, reach out for one of these guilt-free, no chemical, all vegan lollies. It is the most natural sweetness you can get on a stick!

116359698_butterscotch_candy_recipe_2_answer_6_xlarge3.) Butterscotch candies. I remember these when I was a kid going over to my grandma and grandpas house. But the ones I ate as a kid were not necessarily the healthy ones. Well, Yummy Earth makes hard butterscotch candies, too. Of course, vegan. Ingredients?: Organic evaporated cane juice, organic rice syrup, salt, non-GMO citric acid, natural flavors, organic and natural colors.

4.) Go Naturally. Makers of hard candies, too. Organic evaporated cane juice and organic brown rice syrup are the preferred sweeteners and the candies are vegan, gluten-free and allergy free.

5.) Date Lady. Need a nice caramel sauce for your coconut or rice milk vanilla ice cream? Date Lady makes a vegan caramel sauce. You can also get the date syrup to use in place of some sugary, chemical infused alternative.

homemade-marshmallow6.) Marshmallows. People want them. Lets admit it; we all have some kind of savory childhood memory including marshmallows; maybe toasting them over the campfire or making smores? Chicago Vegan makes some nice ones. You can test the ingredients for yourself: Tapioca syrup, non-bone-char sugar, tapioca starch and/or potato starch, filtered water, carageenan, soy protein, natural vanilla flavor compared with Brand 2: Corn Syrup , Sugar , Dextrose , Modified Corn Starch , Water , Gelatin , Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate , Artificial Flavor , Artificial Color (Blue 1) #1. Brand 2 is not vegan (gelatin!) #2. I never saw Blue 1 grow on a tree and doesn’t pyro come from fire? Wow, flammable food! By the way, Chicago Vegan makes vegan cheese and vegan soft serve ice cream, too!

7.) Fruit chews. Sorry Starburst, but these fruit chews win the competition. Lets compare. Starburst ingredients: Corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil and/or palm oil, fruit juice from concentrate (apple, strawberry, lemon, orange, cherry), less than 2% – citric acid, dextrin, gelatin, food starch-modified, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid (vitamin c), coloring (red 40,yellow 6, yellow 5, blue 1) AND Lovely Candy Company Fruit Chew ingredients: Ingredients: Brown rice syrup, dried cane syrup, palm oil, freeze dried blueberry, freeze dried cranberry, freeze dried raspberry, citric acid, natural flavors, sunflower lecithin.

8.) Candy bars. Candy bars can still be enjoyed by vegans. Mounds, Snickers and Reeses move over and make way for the better vegan bars. For a coconut and chocolate mix, there is OCHO Candy bars. Visually one would not know the difference. And Cleos brand makes peanut butter cups. Elis Earth Bars is certified organic and made by Sjaak’s Organic Chocolates. And for crispy rice and chocolate bar lovers? Go Max Go Foods makes Snap!, the rice and chocolate bar and other all vegan, all the time, candy bars. And they are vegan owned and operated.

black_licorice_e-liquid__68664.1379598684.1280.12809.) Black licorice. Being that black licorice is almost already vegan in itself, we had a few different choices on this product. However, there are a few brands that make a somewhat healthier version. Panda is probably the most well known, since even large retailers will sell it. You can also check RJs or Newnan’s Own (makers of cookies and other snacks).

10.) Breath Mints. After you’re done eating all this candy and sweets you’re going to need something for the breath! Contrary to what most people think, most gum and breath mints are not vegan! They have gelatin or some other animal byproducts (like magnesium stearate) in them. VerMints makes vegan mints and they have many different flavors!

MyVeganMind.com

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrssyoutubeby feather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *